Scholarships from the Jacksonville Seminole Club
Chairpersons: Marj and Jerry Rothstein

A major element of the mission of the Jacksonville Seminole Club is providing a variety of scholarship awards. Over the past five years alone, awards totaling over $70,000 were made directly to FSU students or through university-based scholarship funds.

Jay Abraham Scholarship Awards

Jay Abraham was a president of the JSC, in whose memory Nick Shoults, Levene Abraham, and Kevin Wortmann established the Jay Abraham Scholarship. Funds are generated by an annual Wine Galas and Golf Tournaments, chaired by Nick Shoults and supported by the beverage, food, and wine industries.

Currently, students in the FSU Dedman School of Hospitality (Jay’s industry) may apply for individual awards of $1,250 each. Up to four awards of $1,250 are made per year, with $64,000 having been awarded or allocated to date for Dedman School students. Students may obtain scholarship information and applications from the Dedman School.

Scholarship Drawings

For many years, the JSC provided annual random drawings for scholarship awards of $500 per student. Six or more awards of $500 were made per year, with $25,000 having been awarded over the past 5 years. Scholarships in memory of Toy Glass, Shane Korey, Senator Jim King, Captain Scott Speicher, and Leonard Skinner have been awarded.

For 2014, the annual random drawing is suspended.

Special FSU Scholarship Funds

The JSC Board of Directors periodically makes special scholarship awards.

In 2009, the Mickey Andrews Scholarship Fund received an award of $1,000 in honor of his retirement from decades of service as Seminole Football Defensive

In 2009 and 2010, the Jim King Scholarship Fund received awards totaling $5,000 in memory of past JSC president and long-time Booster, Senator Jim King.


             FSU Spear                              FSU Spear

Copyright © 2006-2015